Thirteen outstanding real estate development projects have been selected as winners of the 2020 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence. The winners, each of which demonstrates a comprehensive level of quality and a forward-looking approach to development and design, include four projects in China, two in Hong Kong, two in Australia, two in Singapore, and one each in India, Japan, and New Zealand.

The winners (in alphabetical order) are as follows:

  • Block Sixteen Creative Park—Nanshan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China
    (Developer: Shenzhen Yinno Land Co. Limited; designers: Cube Architects, Ido Design)
  • Dasha River Ecological Corridor—Nanshan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China
    (Developer: China Resources Land; owner: Nanshan District Government; designer: AECOM)
  • EY Centre—Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    (Developer: Mirvac Projects; owners: Mirvac Property Trust, AMP Capital Wholesale Office Fund; designer: Francis-Jones Morehan Thorp)
  • Funan—Singapore
    (Developers: CapitaLand Mall Trust, Ascott-Qatar Investment Authority, Global Fund; designers: Woods Bagot, RSP Architects Planners & Engineers [Pte.] Limited)
  • Jinsong Community’s Urban Renewal Project—Chaoyang District, Beijing, China
    (Developer: Beijing Yuanjing Mingde Management Consulting Co. Limited; designer: Jiuyuan [Beijing] International Construction Consulting Co. Limited)
  • K11 ATELIER King’s Road—Hong Kong SAR, China
    (Developer: New World Development Company Limited; designers: P & T Architects & Engineers Ltd., P Landscape Co. Ltd., ESKYIU Limited, Sirius Lighting (HK) Limited, Speirs + Major LLP)
  • Mason Bros—Wynyard Quarter, Auckland, New Zealand
    (Developer: Precinct Properties; designer: Warren and Mahoney)
  • New Futura—Singapore
    (Developer: City Developments Limited; designers: SOM, ADDP Architects)
  • Mitsui Fudosan Nihonbashi Revitalisation Plan—Nihonbashi, Tokyo, Japan
    (Developer: Mitsui Fudosan; owner: Nihonbashi Muromachi 3rd District Project Association; designers: NIHON SEKKEI, KAJIMA DESIGN, Landscape Plus, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects, Uchihara Creative Lighting Design)
  • RMZ Ecoworld—Bangalore, Karnataka State, India
    (Developer: RMZ Ecoworld Infrastructure Private Limited; designer: DP Architects Singapore Pte. Limited)
  • Taikoo Place—Hong Kong SAR, China
    (Developer: Swire Properties; designers: Wong and Ouyang [HK] Limited, Hugh Dutton & Associates, Gustafson Porter + Bowman)
  • THE HUB—MinHang District, Shanghai, China
    (Developer: Shui On Land; designers: Ben Wood Studio Shanghai, P&T Group, CRTKL, ARUP, HBA, Neri & Hu, Design Land Collaborative)
  • Yagan Square—Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    (Developer: Development WA; owner: State Government of Western Australia; designers: Lyons Architecture, Iredale Pedersen Hook)

This year, the ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence winners were announced at the ULI Asia Pacific REImagine virtual forum, bringing together real estate professionals from around the world.

“The Asia Pacific region has some incredible development projects and we were delighted to showcase some of the best to a global audience,” said Nicholas Brooke, chairman of ULI Asia Pacific. “All the winners of this year’s award demonstrate best practice in land use and continue to push the industry forward while putting people first.”

David Faulkner, who joined ULI Asia Pacific as president in August, said that the awards are an example of how ULI is helping all companies involved in the real estate industry to learn from exemplar developments being built across the region and to aim even higher in the future.

“ULI is a beacon for those that want the real estate industry to remain innovative,” said Faulkner. “The projects that have been selected as winners of the ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence can be tremendously proud of what they have achieved and we are enormously grateful for the time and effort that have gone into all of the submissions as part of the process and for the tireless work of our Jury members.”

The international jury that selected the winning projects is made up of leading ULI members representing multidisciplinary real estate expertise, including finance, planning, development, design, and other professional services.

“The ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence have gone from strength to strength since the inaugural competition last year,” said Ame Engelhart, ULI trustee and jury chair, who is a director of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill. “We received our highest number of entries, and the caliber of the projects keeps getting better and better, which made it particularly difficult to narrow the competition to 13 winners. The projects that the jury has selected represent a broad mix of development typologies and the wide diversity of the real estate market across the Asia Pacific region.”

The ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence program recognizes the full development process of a project, not just its architecture and design. Projects and programs are evaluated according to the extent to which they:

  • achieve marketplace acceptance and financial success;
  • achieve a high standard of excellence across all disciplines—architecture, design, planning, construction, amenities, economics, and management, and so on;
  • demonstrate relevance to the contemporary and future needs of the community in which they are located;
  • have a positive impact in their communities and/or immediate context;
  • exhibit environmental sustainability, stewardship, and resilience; and
  • provide models, lessons, strategies, or techniques that other communities can replicate or adapt.

In addition to Engelhart, the 2020 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence Jury members were Rebecca Cheng, KPF; Donald Choi, Chinachem Group; Ong Choon Fah, Edmund Tie & Co.; Gordon Hatton, Pembroke; Peter Holland, Cistri; Ko Iwahori, Acadia Capital/Mitsubishi Estate; Siew Leng Fun, URA; Roger Nelson, NH Architecture; Bob Pratt, Tishman Speyer; Yim Sang Hun, IGIS Asset Management; and Sylvester Wong, AECOM.

All of the winning entries will be eligible for the 2021 ULI Global Awards for Excellence. For more information, please visit: