The ULI Terwilliger Center for Housing has selected government bodies in San Diego and Washington, D.C. as winners of the 2022 ULI Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Award.

The award was created in 2011 to honor the legacy of the late Robert C. Larson, a former ULI Foundation chairman and longtime ULI trustee. The Larson Awards are part of the Terwilliger Center’s housing awards program and recognize exemplary state and local programs and policies that support the production, rehabilitation, and preservation of workforce and affordable housing.

“The public sector has a major role to play in facilitating the production and preservation of attainable housing,” said Christopher Ptomey, executive director of ULI’s Terwilliger Center for Housing. “Each year, the jury is pleased to see the efforts around the country to address and positively impact access to housing that is adequate and affordable. On behalf of the Terwilliger Center, I’d like to congratulate this year’s winners, which can serve as models for other cities to ease their housing affordability challenges.”

The winners are:

  • Affordable Homes Bonus Program from the Development Services Department of the City of San Diego. The City of San Diego enacted its Affordable Homes Bonus Program in 2016, which substantially increased the production of both market-rate and deed-restricted affordable homes. The program builds upon the California Density Bonus Law and allows developers to build more homes if they agree to set aside a subset of a new project as affordable.
  • Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority and Amazon Housing Equity Fund Partnership. In June 2021, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority and Amazon announced a commitment to create 1,000 units of affordable housing at Metro stations within the Washington metro area by 2025. The first two loans from Amazon were announced in March 2022 and will fund construction of 742 units of affordable housing at the College Park and New Carrollton Metro stations. That housing will be complete in 2024.

The jury is chaired by Ron Terwilliger, founder of the ULI Terwilliger Center and chairman of Terwilliger Pappas Multifamily Partners.

Other jury members are Paul Bernard, president and CEO, Arlington Housing Corporation Inc., Arlington, Va.; Rodger Brown, managing director of real estate development, Preservation of Affordable Housing, Boston; Payton Chung, managing partner, Westover Green, Washington; Tamara Dudukovich, principal, Avenue Ventures LLC, Pittsburgh; Alan George, executive vice president (retired), Equity Residential, Chicago; Dara Kovel, president, Beacon Communities, Boston; Mark Richardson, chief technology officer, Rich Analytics, Toronto; Jaydan Tait, president and CEO, Attainable Homes Calgary, Calgary, Alberta; Emily Thompson, partner, GMD Development, Seattle; Dawnita Wilson, vice president, head of diversity and inclusion, JBG Smith, Bethesda, Md.; Margaret Wylde, CEO, ProMatura Group, Oxford, Miss.; and Bob Youngentob, executive chairman and co-founder, EYA LLC, Bethesda, Md.

For questions about the housing awards program and the 2023 awards process and schedule, email [email protected].